Friday, 17 July 2015

Zambia: Victoria Falls

Today I got four postcards: my first cards from Zambia and Togo, one from Germany and one from France.

Zambia is a country in Southern Africa bordering on the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Tanzania, Malawi, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Namibia and Angola. Its capital is Lusaka. In 1964 became Zambia independent from the United Kingdom.

It shows a lunar rainbow over the Victoria Falls. The Victoria Falls is a waterfall on the Zambezi River and located on the border of Zambia and Zimbabwe. The first European to see them was David Livingstone in 1855. Mosi-oa-Tunya / Victoria Falls is on the UNESCO World Heritage List since 1989. 

The stamp shows a serval. The serval is a medium-sized from Africa. The stamp was overprinted and surcharged after Zambia's currency, the Zambian kwacha, was rebased in January 2013. One new kwacha is equal to 1000 old kwacha, as can also be seen on the stamp. I do not know when the stamp was issued or overprinted, but I think one of them happened in "Oct. 2012".

Thank You very much Mike for arranging this card for me!

No comments:

Post a Comment