Monday, 26 October 2015

United Nations: Security Council Chamber

Today I got a postcard from the United Nations.

It shows the Security Council Chamber at the United Nations complex in New York. The Security Council is one of the most important organs of the United Nations. Its task is the preservation of international peace and security and thus it can accept new members to the United Nations, change the United Nations Charter and authorise military actions. It was formed following World War II in 1946. The five permanent members of the council are China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the USA. There are also ten non-permanent members from five regions changing regularly. At the moment the non-permanent members are Angola, Chad, Chile, Jordan, Lithuania, Malaysia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Spain and Venezuela. The Security Council is often criticised and there are different plans the reform it.

With a great stamp:
End Violence against Children (from set of two) (issued 20-08-2015)

Thank You very much Kylie!

No comments:

Post a Comment