Saturday, 5 September 2015

Austria: Tyrol

On Tuesday I got fourteen cards from Austria.

One of them shows various views of Tyrol. Tyrol is a region in Alps. For a long time it was part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire, but after World War I it was divided between Austria and Italy. The Austrian part forms the State of Tyrol with Innsbruck as capital city. Other important cities in the Austrian part are Imst, Kitzbühel, Kufstein, Landeck, Reutte and Schwaz in North Tyrol and Lienz in East Tyrol. In 1998 the Austrian State of Tyrol and the Italian part of Tyrol formed the Tyrol-South Tyrol-Trentino Euroregion. 
I sent it from my holidays in Austria.

With a related stamp:
UEFA EURO 2008 - Trix and Flix (two from set of four) (issued 29-06-2007)
One of the venues of the UEFA EURO 2008 was the Tivoli-Neu Stadion in Innsbruck.
150 years Alpine Association (issued 12-01-2012)

I also bought some cards showing the flora and fauna of Tyrol and the Alps in general including marmots, Capricorns, a decorated cow, gentian and edelweiss.

No comments:

Post a Comment