Wednesday, 4 January 2017

Germany: Lower Saxony from Papersisters

Yesterday I was in Hanover and there I got the German Landmark postcard of Lower Saxony from Papersisters cancelled.

Lower Saxony is one of the States of the Federal Republic of Germany bordering on the Netherlands, Bremen, Schleswig-Holstein, Hamburg, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Brandenburg, Saxony-Anhalt, Thuringia, Hesse and North Rhine-Westphalia. The modern state was founded in 1946 when the State of Hanover, the Free State of Braunschweig, the Free State of Oldenburg and the Free State of Schaumburg-Lippe were combined. The capital and largest city is Hanover. Other big cities are Braunschweig, Oldenburg, Osnabrück, Wolfsburg, Göttingen, Hildesheim and Salzgitter. Among the German States it is the second largest by area and the fourth largest by population.

Among others the card shows the North Sea with the Wadden Sea, the New Town Hall of Hanover, the Old Town of Lüneburg, the Lüneburg Heath and the Harz.

I stamped the card with various stamps about Lower Saxony:
Till Eulenspiegel (issued 07-07-2011)
Wadden Sea (issued 01-07-2013)
Fagus Factory in Alfeld (issued 02-10-2014)
Herzog Anton Ulrich Museum in Braunschweig (issued 02-01-2017)

No comments:

Post a Comment