Thursday, 17 August 2017

Azores: Angra do Heroísmo

On Monday I got two postcards: my first postcard from the Azores and one from Germany.

The Azores are an archipelago of nine islands in the Atlantic Ocean and an autonomous region of Portugal. The three capitals of the region are Ponta Delgada, Angra do Heroísmo and Horta. As part of Portugal the islands are part of the European Union.

The card shows Angra do Heroísmo. Angra do Heroísmo is the location of the Azorean Supreme Court and the Azorean bishop. It was an obligatory port of call from the 15th century until the 19th century. Since 1983 is the Central Zone of the Town of Angra do Heroísmo on the UNESCO World Heritage List.

Centenary of the first Military Flight (from set of two) (issued 15-07-2016)

Thank You very much Marta!

No comments:

Post a Comment